Removing leftover bundles from Eclipse

Eclipse has a rich, wonderful, installer named p2. This installer manages your Eclipse plug-ins using a nice UI and allows you to add/remove features easily. Except when it doesn’t.

For the first time in several years, I was stuck with some bundles in my installation and could not get rid of them. Deleting them outright from disk is risky and confuses Equinox ( the OSGi framework powering Eclipse ) as I’m messing with its internal state. That type of operation is also discoraged in the p2 getting started documentation .

A good tip came from the Genuitec Forums, where it was pointed out to me that I can edit a file named

<eclipse install dir>/configuration/org.eclipse.equinox.simpleconfigurator/bundles.info

and remove any bundles from there. Once I removed them they were no longer picked up by p2. Additionally, I could now remove them from disk.

If you ever need to remove dangling/leftover bundles from your Eclipse installation, this is one way. But make sure that you’ve tried the p2/update manager UI first, this is a last resort.